Anyone running mixed springs F/R?

S550_Newbie

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Kelly
Vehicle(s)
2020 GT PP1
I just removed the Steeda Ultra Light springs yesterday from the rear of my mustang and so far I am much more comfortable being able to get a finger between the rear tire and fender well. I still have the Steeda's in the front and actually like the way it is. I can't imagine any issues using 2 different springs in front / rear but I am a newbie. So my rates are now 200/740. Anyone running setups like this, is it too little rate in the rear end?
Sponsored

TeeLew

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Tim
Vehicle(s)
Honda Odyssey, Toyota Tacoma, 89 GT project, 2020 Magnetic EB HPP w/ 6M
When I change springs, this is how I'm going to do it, 1 end at a time. I want to feel the difference. Rake, the difference in front & rear ride height, is one of the more powerful tuning tools wrt handling. I just don't have a good handle on how sensitive this particular platform is.

Norm Peterson

corner barstool sitter
Threads
Reaction score
On a corner barstool not too far from I-95
First Name
Norm
Vehicle(s)
'08 GT #85, '19 WRX
Rake usually implies something about the geometric roll center heights relative to each other, which I think is really what's responsible for changing the handling. Rake is the visible clue.

Norm

Norm Peterson

corner barstool sitter
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Norm
Vehicle(s)
'08 GT #85, '19 WRX
I just removed the Steeda Ultra Light springs yesterday from the rear of my mustang and so far I am much more comfortable being able to get a finger between the rear tire and fender well. I still have the Steeda's in the front and actually like the way it is. I can't imagine any issues using 2 different springs in front / rear but I am a newbie. So my rates are now 200/740. Anyone running setups like this, is it too little rate in the rear end?