2018 or 2019 Mustang GT

givemeadollar

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
2019 LFP 800
Hey guys I'm new to the world of mustang's and I was looking for a bit of advice. The dealer I'm working with currently has a 2018 gt with 97 miles and a 2019 gt with 5.2 miles. The price difference between the cars is pretty substantial and they both have the exact same options. Should I be wary of buying a manual that has had most of its break in done by test drivers and a dealer trade? I don't know how important break in is to these mustangs, please enlighten me!!
Sponsored

rebellovw

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT Premium PP
97 miles is nothing. I’d get the 18 if I could get the price I wanted. No differences in the manual. Both could have issues that would be covered by warranty. I love my 18 manual.

Zrussian13

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Chris
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT, 2018 Acura MDX
Does the 18 have rev matching? I think that was new for 19. I didn't really think I'd enjoy it that much but after driving one it's great. Even when your cruising up to stoplights a little down shift sounds out right mean.

Also not sure if the new mustang clutch needs a good break in period but 90+ miles of test drives could definitely have glazed the clutch disk over some. When I bought mine it had 18 miles on it and the dealer took me out and just beat on it. When it was my turn to test drive it I gave it some gas but kept it conservative. The sales rep didn't understand why I wasn't driving it harder.

With that being said if the 18 is a way better price and the rev match doesn't do it for you take the better deal!

OP
OP
givemeadollar

givemeadollar

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
2019 LFP 800
Does the 18 have rev matching? I think that was new for 19. I didn't really think I'd enjoy it that much but after driving one it's great. Even when your cruising up to stoplights a little down shift sounds out right mean.