LOEzell

OldME
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Larry
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT Premium Convertible
I just purchased a 2018 GT convertible, fully equipped (PP1, Magneride, 401A, 10sp auto, variable exhaust, Shaker, metallic gray exterior, black interior). I have about 1,100 miles on it and I really like it. BTW, I am a 69-year-old retired engineer and this vehicle will be my last rodeo. What better vehicle for one's last rodeo than a Pony?

As a DIY oil-changer, I was interested in how hard it would be to change the oil in a GT with the power package 1. Therefore, I put the pony on my ramps and took an exploratory crawl. Vertical space was very limited so I could not move around easily.

It was easy to find the oil filter, but I am not sure I ever found the oil drain plug. I did find a port at the bottom of a polymer pan located between the engine and the transmission. However, this port was covered by a yellow plastic plug that looked like it could be removed by hand. I was afraid to remove it without more research.

Have any of you posters (I really appreciate all the very interesting posts) changed the oil in a 2018 GT with PP and know how to accurately located the oil drain plug? If so, please pass along your advice. Also, anyone know what the yellow plastic plug is about? I am beginning to thing it is a protective plug for the oil drain plug or it's there for mfg. purposes. Please advise.
Sponsored

Last edited:

Angry50

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Fred
Vehicle(s)
2017 Shelby GT350
the 2018 is the yellow plastic plug for the oil drain.

OP
OP

LOEzell

OldME
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Larry
Vehicle(s)
Someone is going to ask, did you read the manual first..?

:cheers: