Sponsored

2016 mustang gt pp - shifting question

Calvin_s550

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT Performance Package
hi, im new to driving stick shift, and i wanted to know if in the 2016 gt that when you shift, is it normal that it makes a rattle sound...or something similar to a thud when shifting? thanks for all replies.
Sponsored

Joe 5.0

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT/PP
Vehicle Showcase
^ What he said.

Although the thump is annoying, it is normal.

scott_0

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
lol another reason I bought an auto, the MT82 in 2011 was finicky

Bert03GT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT
Thud is normal, rattle however ive never heard on mine. Are you letting out of the clutch to soon? If you havent order a clutch spring from steeda asap. make a huge difference.

Sponsored

15wile

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
15 GT
My transmission made all sorts of weird noises for the first 10k miles or so. Most of them went away, eventually.

This is an obnoxiously noisy transmission, overall. As long as it drops smoothly into the gates, you're OK.

ForTheHordeKT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Black GT Performance Package
Yeah this thing definitely has its little foibles. I'm getting used to it too. I went through an automatic transmission in my '06 GT muttering as it slowly began to crap out and do weird stuff about how I should have got a manual. Just my luck the manual transmissions in these are kind of strange? Sketchy? Not really sure what quality would best describe it lol. I just know that I'm sitting here thanking myself for springing for the extended warranty. As long as I'm fully pushing in the clutch and not grinding shit, and engaging it properly then fuck it. If something goes wrong it'll just be Ford's problem lol.

Fordever

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Derek
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT/CS Convertible