Sponsored

Foam Cannon?

scottmoyer

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2014 GT and 2016 GT
I see the hot topic these days is to use a pressure washer and a foam cannon to soap up a car. What I see is marketing 101, pushing products, and selling the idea that you need more stuff.

What am I missing here? I've been washing cars for over 30 years and always start at the top of the car and hose it down to get any loose dirt and sand from the body, wheels, wheel wells and back end of the car. A thorough rinsing has always given a good starting point for a wash. I then wash the car, then dry the car and might use a spray wax to finish it up.

I'm seeing a lot of videos where the user is spraying the car with a pressure washer, not a hose, which should get all of the loose stuff off the car and should also remove the top layer of dirt. They then foam cannon the car, let it sit, rinse the car, then they do their wash. I see the foam cannon as just wasted soap being sprayed on the car, then being rinsed off. What is the purpose of it? I don't see how that makes the car any cleaner. If the foam cannon is removing the dirt, then why wash it afterwards? If it isn't removing the dirt, then why use it?

I just watched a Chemical Guys How-To video just to see what they say, and all I see is a lot of product being used, requiring you to buy more! They sprayed the tires with some gel, then they sprayed the wheel brush with more gel, continued using this gel again and again, just to clean the wheels and tires. They probably used 1/2 the bottle to clean one car's tires and wheels.

Any information is appreciated, but my cars are just as clean and streak free without all of the extra steps and extra products, so I don't understand their use.
Sponsored

highvoltage

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Brock
Vehicle(s)
18 Audi A3, 21 F150