Sponsored

Air Conditioning Stopped Working: Any thoughts before I take it in?

omelet1978

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 Sonata 2.0T Limited
My air conditioning in my 2016 Mustang Ecoboost Manual stopped all-together today. It’s basically the entire system including heat since there is no airflow at all.

Any suggestions before I spend a day at the dealership? I’m guessing it was a fan failure of some sort, but I’m not a mechanic. Fortunately, it’s still under warranty. This is the second a/c problem I’ve had. About a year ago it stopped blowing cold air and they replaced a part (also under warranty), so I’m starting to wonder if this car has some air conditioning issues.

Thanks in advance for any inputs.
Sponsored

michail71

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT 401a A10
I wouldn't worry too much. Most issues I've had in new cars tend to hit early on in the first few years. It's probably something electrical.

cbrookre

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Chris
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT Convertible 50th app
if it is not blowing air then it is probably the blower motor. If so, it is generally a very easy part to replace. Sounds completely unrelated to your first problem (which I and many others shared with you).

Blocka

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang V6
i Have the same issue. Come to find out its the evaporator core. Dealership charges 1800. I wanted to take it somewhere else but im kind of nervous.

ctandc72

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'19 GT 6 speed Base
Vehicle Showcase
i Have the same issue. Come to find out its the evaporator core. Dealership charges 1800. I wanted to take it somewhere else but im kind of nervous.
So you are saying you had a bad evap core and this is causing you not to have ANY air blowing out the vents, even on the heat setting?

Sponsored

gameovergt

Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Kevin
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Mustang GT California Special (A10)
Vehicle Showcase