Sponsored

DSS Aluminum Vibs

SJulian10mm

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustangless
Finally drove my car after installing a DSS 4' Aluminum DS last week, it vibes and makes a terrible noise, basically undrivable.

Will have to go back to the stock shaft unless there is a fix or something different to try.
Sponsored

wildcatgoal

@sirboom_photography
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
TBD
Can try rotating at 25* increments at the differential. I had to do so and the first time it was better (I have a Shaftmasters). Mine, though, is now starting to vibration >80MPH and especially when I let off after I had to replace the gator boot thing above the slip joint because it cracked. So I guess the two metal clamp things that hold it on at each side threw it off balance or something - even though Shaftmasters said that wouldn't happen. Arg!

pro 5.0

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT
Not the first time I've heard of this just another reason why I haven't changed my stock drive shaft. The 2 piece shaft is much more forgiving to pinion angle changes, hopefully rotating it solves the issue. You would think for the money they charge for these aftermarket shafts they would have some tech sheet letting you know that you may have to try different positions to prevent vibrations.

OP
OP
SJulian10mm

SJulian10mm

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustangless
I said the hell with it and threw the stock shaft back on. Will return this turd next week, too scared it’s going to bust something to mess with it. Maybe I’ll try a different shaft in the future.

Sponsored

Racemaster

Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.skspeed.com
First Name
Jeff
Vehicle(s)
2015 Roush 2003 Marauder
OP
OP
SJulian10mm

SJulian10mm

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustangless