Sponsored

novice needs opinions on tires for track(GT350)

Gstone

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT350 Lead Foot Gray
I did try searching and am still confused.

I'm a novice with 3 prior HPDE events in my M4. GT350 now.

I'am getting the P51 size 11, 11.5 wheels, direct bolt on. I don't want to deal with spacers. Probably will use them 90% of time for track only.

Tire options are limited in staggered 305/325.
Should I just go square with 305 all around. I don't care about being able to rotate tires, square just gives me more choices in tires(thinking RE71r or RE-11). No suspension mods. My concerns with square are 1. handling characteristics on a track for a novice , 2. Will it look odd. 3. Am I missing something.

Thanks
Sponsored

DocWalt

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GT350
I'd do 305 square Hankook R-S4 tires or run the R spec Cup 2s if you want more speed. RE-71Rs work too, but they get greasy quickly because they're autocross focused tires. RE-11 are a decent option too, though I'm not a big fan of them.

BmacIL

Enginerd
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Guard GT Base, M/T
Vehicle Showcase
I would go 305 square. The stock GT350 still has just a bit of understeer on the track, and a square setup gets that closer to neutral. As far as tires go, if you can find RE-11s they are a great choice for a quick, durable tire, but they are out of production now and will be scarce (shame). RE71R are extremely grippy but they'll get hot and lose grip quicker, because as mentioned they're autocross-focused. I'd agree with DocWalt on R-S4 or PSC2's. NT01 wouldn't be bad either.

Grafanton

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ecoboost PP 6MT
I personally think a square setup looks good and proper, the staggered setup looks goofy.