Sponsored

Stock pads are worthless on track!

SVO MkII

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ecoboost, 6sp, PP, 2017 GT Convertible
I had the EB PP to Road America this weekend. Not a great experience. It was far from an ideal weekend weather wise. The high was 38 deg (yes, Fahrenheit) yesterday, and it rained essentially all day. When I left on Thurs, they were forecasting some rain for Saturday too. In light of this, I didn't bother to swap in my track pads, and I put my Blizzak LM-32s (V speed rated) back on. As luck would have it, today actually turned out to be sunny and dry. In case anyone was wondering, winter tires are not ideal on a dry, sunny day :doh: But the real downer was the brakes. After two laps the pedal started getting soft. I thought this was strange, given my prior experience with my Porsches, but I kept going. By the 5th or 6th lap, I pushed the pedal clear to the floor braking for turn 1. That was it. Day was done for me. I've been doing HPDE for over 20 years and when I lose confidence in my brakes, I stop driving. When I came into the pits, the brakes were smoking pretty heavily. I know I boiled the fluid. It looks like fluid may have seeped out of the caliper, which seemed really odd too. The pedal is spongy, so I know I need to bleed them now. I sure hope I didn't damage any seals inside the caliper. That would suck :mad:

I will put Motul 660 in for my next track day, plus appropriate pads. I think I may also remove the inner dust shields. I can't see how these are a good idea. Eventually, I need to swap the rotors for "normal" inside vented ones, and install some cooling ducts.
Sponsored

EFI

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
5.Br0
I had the EB PP
Stopped reading after that. 14" non Brembo brakes are not meant for the track on sustained high speed braking, no matter what the fluid or pad compound (which btw won't help that much given the rotor and caliper design).