Sponsored

DIY 18' manifold swap into 15-17'

S550MG

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 S550
Alrighty, so here goes nothing!! First of all I'll issue my disclaimer, I'm a terrible writer so congrats if you can actually read any of this. Likewise, this will be my first attempt at writing any sort of DIY thread so proceed with caution, lol. A little background about myself first, I am not a professional technician but more of a mechaniclly inclined hobbyist. I have swapped my suspension on my car three times and done my own exhaust and shifter install. I would consider those mods to be tougher than the manifold swap. In other words this isn't that difficult of a job. That being said, perform this mod at your own risk, I hold no liability for you performing this mod and screwing yourself or your car up. This mod will definitley void the warranty on your engine, so again do this at your own risk.

Now with that out of the way, lets talk about the mod itself. So why did I want to do the unproven 18' manifold instead of some of the other proven options out there? Well because 18 manifold offers the best value to performance ratio. You're basically getting the same performance as the 350 manifold at about a third of the cost. I also wanted to maintain my IMRC functionality so this write up will show how I did that. The other option is locking out the IMRC's but you supposedly lose low end torque, fuel economy, and driveability so I chose to keep the IMRC's even though locking them out would make the mod a bit easier. With all that covered, what are we going to need.

Parts and tools needed:

2018 Intake manifold Part #JR3Z-9424-A
IMRC actuator pigtails Part #WPT1492 or plug and play harness
2-3 feet of 3/8" vacuum or fuel line
5/8" hose clamps x 6
Tap splice connectors x 2
Some sort of tune, I went with Lund

Dremel tool w/ cut off wheel
Soldering iron and solder
Electircal pliers
Needle nose pliers
Heat gun or hair drier