Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 PP1 GT Kona
  • Banned
Months ago I popped it off to install the lighter Steeda spring. With the lighter Steeda spring, it's easy to get back on. Unfortunately it made the pedal too heavy, I have scar tissue around a nerve in my foot, and the pain was rising.

So, I tried to put the factory spring back in. I rassled that thing on there, and broke the top mount in the process. I got it in, but little pieces of snapped off plastic spit out at me. It was in, but I knew I had broken it. I had also failed to properly lube the perch assembly, and I've been driving in real pain for a few months. And having taken a new job in D.C., and driving in this horrendous traffic, it's been miserable.

I ordered the Steeda Perch assembly, and today I went to put it in with the factory 85 lb. spring.

Well, it ain't easy. That 85 lb spring is just tough to get in. I couldn't get my vice-grips to do the job.

Luckily I have a garage next to me, and they put the spring in a vice, compressed it, and zip-tied it. And I was just barely able to get it back it, with at least a little bit of caliper grease in there. Then I just cut the zip-ties, which I have to pull out at home with a light and vice-grips.

So, the pedal is now light again.

Big props to Steeda. Their Perch assembly is much, much better made. Heavy duty, and it fit better than OEM. I think I would have broken an OEM perch assembly again trying to get it in, the heavy-duty nature of the Steeda part made the difference.

So, learn from my mistakes. A press and zip-ties are the way to go. Along with that Steeda Perch assembly.
Sponsored

Last edited:
OP
OP
NoVaGT

NoVaGT

Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 PP1 GT Kona
  • Banned
Well, trying to pull out the remnants of the zip ties.

Got one of them out, the other looks like it's there to stay.

Lorne34

Project Hidalgo
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Lorne
Vehicle(s)
2019 GT350