Sponsored

2015 Mustang S550 design thread

KZStang

Ok I did the best I could, not being a designer myself. Love it or hate it, this is what I see happening. Agree or disagree, let's hear it.

I pulled together some info based on Ford's own words about its new global design language, its other vehicles and people who have claimed to see it with their own eyes. As usual, with the caveat that before we see it from Ford, this is all just educated guesswork. Hopefully we see a full prototype soon, but there's so much talk about retro vs. modern, American vs. European, etc. that I think it's worth a new thread apart from the renders.

Design Language
1. Class it up
Expect the 2015 Mustang to look and feel more expensive. This will result from the combination of two pillars of the future global design language from Ford. Silhouette Innovation and Refined Surface Language.

Silhouette Innovation
According to J Mays, the first pillar of Ford’s new design language represents a profile “that defines your automobile and looks different than most of the other cars in a particular class on the road.”

Refined Surface Language
Refers to a “smoothing out” of kinetically sculpted body surfaces, among them the architectural fenders, creased door skins, and sculpted hoods. This directive also appears to be a reaction to other manufacturers that Mays claims have “annexed” and subsequently exaggerated Ford’s Kinetic motifs. Ford is going in “exactly the opposite direction” now, he said, keeping what he called the “excitement” of Kinetic design but rendered in “beautiful shapes you’d love to run your hands over.”

Bottom Line: The 2015 Mustang will likely benefit from a more refined and sophisticated exterior, and a few touches of chrome (lip of grille perhaps?). The interior may benefit from higher quality materials (soft touch plastics, higher quality leather/alcantara, leather stitching like that of the California Special editions and slightly better trim)

2. Size Matters