Brake dust and clunk sound in first

bless0

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Steve
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ingot Silver GT/PP/AE/MR Recaros
Hello everyone, I am new to mustangs. I recently bought a 17 GT Prem/PP 6MT with only 1890 miles on her. I absolutely love the car and the performance. I've already made a few mods after buying items from members on this great forum.JLT CAI, SC XT4, Roush axle backs. I have 2 things that bug me about the car, and hopefully someone can help explain the issue or have a solution.

1. every time i put the car in 1st gear, i get a mild clunk sound. I could almost feel the tranny get in gear. It is very similar to my Harley when i put it in gear from a standing stop. Is this normal or should it be smooth and quiet and unnoticeable? Is there a gear oil i could change to that would make it less of a clunk.

2. Brake dust. OMG these stock brake pads leave so much brake dust. Is anyone using a brake pad that doesn't leave so much dust?
Sponsored

poncho@home

GettingOld
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Mustang GT Premium
1. is normal. Mine does sometimes, not every single time. But everything I have read on this forum, all MT-82s do it to some degree.

Monopoly

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Mustang GT, 2012 Civic Si
had same clunk but im at 8k miles currently and either its gone away for i dont notice it as much anymore. its notorious. several posts in the drivetrain section on this topic.

JuRuKi

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT/PP
1) My transmission has been clunking from day 1 and im now at 25k miles and its still there. I just learned to live with it. Replacing your transmission fluid will not make it go away but it will make your car shift smoother.
2) I'm using Z26 pads and they barely make any dust and stop as good as stock, just a little less grabby maybe.

Last edited:

M2C3

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Black 2015 GT PP 401a Manual