Sponsored

Paddle shifting / sport mode on the track (for dummies)

klumpikat

Chick driver
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 'Stang GT Premium
I read through old threads on paddle shifting but didn't really get the answers I am looking for.

I am going to a performance driving clinic at Buttonwillow Saturday (tomorrow) and want to take full advantage of what the car can do on the track to the best of my (very limited) abilities.

I am studying the hell out of this on youtube as far as tracking on the Buttonwillow track itself so I kinda know a little what to expect but only know the very basics of real-world paddle shifting (and will be getting more practice on the 4hr drive on my way to the track :)). I understand going full auto on the track is a bad idea. It's all or nothing with me, anyway, in daily life, depending on my mood: "S" and go completely manual or just going full auto; never a "mix". I am confused about doing this with or without Sport mode. From what I read, both together are no bueno. But I dunno if there are different rules between daily driving habits as discussed elsewhere in this forum vs driving on the track. Also I know nothing about traction control, and on one video the instructor tells a student to turn it off.

Please educate this track virgin so I am somewhat prepared. I intend to absorb as much as possible and get my speed on, but remain safe. I am not one to just start flying around like some know-it-all retard and spinning out, hurting my baby. :p It is a bit unnerving to hear that Mustangs are apparently notorious for not handling beautifully on Buttonwillow (unless that is just hate talk in general).

Thanks in advance. :)
Sponsored

TypeTridoron

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2007 Impala SS
It is a bit unnerving to hear that Mustangs are apparently notorious for not handling beautifully on Buttonwillow (unless that is just hate talk in general).
Might also be people thinking of the older wave of S197s, to be fair.