Sponsored

Autocross/daily driver questions

Steve68Cougar

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'68 Cougar, '08 Mustang Bullitt, '18 Mustang RS2
I wonder how good the FR3A suspension system would be. I have the S197 version on my '08 Bullitt and have been very happy with it. They show that it has been standard equipment on the Shelby Super Snake and Hertz cars. It seems to get pretty good reviews.

I'm tempted with the Shelby/Penske setup, but it costs more than the first 3 Mustangs I had combined.
Sponsored

blind*guardian

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT
I would suggest to take a look at the Bilstein B16 coil overs as a good option for autocross and daily. I am no autocross expert, have less than 10 events under my belt, but I can’t complain about their behavior. There’s minimal dive or body roll on the stiffest settings and it’s quite livable on the street for daily duty. The price to performance seems good with them too.

NightmareMoon

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT PP
Vehicle Showcase
I don't mind it being stiffer on the street, but I don't want it to be uncomfortable. Do you have any shocks in mind that you think would work better for the DR springs? Again, I think adjustability is key for my purposes.

"Having ridden in a car with even stiffer front springs and higher quality monotube shocks, there is a very noticeable difference"
-What specifically do you mean here? Better all around, or better on the street or autox? I have seen in the CAM-C thread that people think the DR front rates are too low, but I'm not really building a dedicated CAM-C car. It'll just fit nicely there, and I'll probably still get beat by our top FS guy.. He's good.
i don’t know any better shocks than the Steeda adjustibles or konis that work with regulat springs. If I did, I’d be running them. The next step up is to expensive coilovers.