Science is now cancelled? [USERS NOW BANNED FOR POLITICS]

sk47

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jeff
Vehicle(s)
Chevy Silverado & Nissan Sentra SE
Hello; I was a minor scientist who wound up teaching science in schools so, as you already know, I am not qualified to have an opinion according to some on this site. I did learn about two things during my 32 years on the job and many graduate hours of science courses.

One is the WAG, the other is the SWAG. A WAG is a best guess from an ordinary person. WAG = Wild @ss Guess.
The SWAG is a best guess from someone trained in science. SWAG= Scientific Wild @ss Guess.
Sponsored

sk47

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jeff
Vehicle(s)
Same thing as cell phone or any other LIPO. Fully charged bad. Below 20% bad. Closer between that range is the best with the most charge cycles coming when charged between 40-70%. The biggest problem with charging to 100% is the cells increase in voltage when heated. Over voltage is the 2nd worst thing you can do to LIPOs. Total discharge being the worst.
Hello; Ok, so I can see how to keep track of the discharge. I think the dash of an EV shows charge or miles left. I am not so sure about the charge part. I suppose I could try to guess the time and go unplug the charger. Is there a better way?

MaskedRacerX

Driver
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
DT
Vehicle(s)
'21_JWS4XE / '21_TM3P
However, some experts say it is best to avoid letting the charge routinely drop below 45%”
No actual owners do this, and none of them have notable additional degradation - most folks do 15-20% to 85%, which also keeps it at a higher charge rate window, and if you're doing a bit of a longer run, simple, charge it to 100% before you leave, run it down to 10%, you'll be fine.

Tesla historical data shows a 2-5% degradation over 50K miles, and less than another 5% over the next 150K, i.e., ~200K while retaining 90% or better charging capacity.