Sponsored

Magneride in the Hill Country

Carzzi

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'20 Rapid Red 401A PP1 A10 Magneride
I took my 2020 Magneride GT to Cow Creek, in the Hill Country of Texas, today— retracing a drive I'd done pre-Covid Era in my non-MR '15 PP with some other responsible driving enthusiasts. It's a tortuous route with pavement that's both undulating and, in parts, scabrous.

I went in with quite a bit of trepidation, as my previous such drive was "not great, not terrible". To recount, my stock '15, with relatively new PS4S's, felt confident on smooth sections with great grip; but when the bumps began, this confidence was eroded somewhat by the car's skittishness. The car's characteristic bounciness that it has always had seemed to amplify my terror in any of the sweepers that were less than perfectly unblemished. No, I'm not a track rat; yes, I'm a nervous driver easily spooked by hints of instability. To sum up, that drive was a sometimes white–knuckled affair. I'd shied away since from these kinds of enthusiastic Hill Country runs.

Today, through, I was persuaded by the same people to try again. And it was revelatory, and a day on which there was much to revel. Exorcised were the bounding and the nervousness. The clichéd "Magic carpet–like" was the ride. Body control was telepathic in Sport+. Because the bumps were absorbed better, it felt like there was much more grip available. Confidence was inspired. The drive... was fun, with no detracting qualifiers.

Count me among the believers in Magneride. An evangelist, even. I am exultant, still to come off the high.
Sponsored

OP
OP
Carzzi

Carzzi

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
But how else would I immanentize the eschaton?

Sponsored

lacanteen

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
George
Vehicle(s)
2022 EB premium vert, 2013 Escape, 2017 F150 SC5.0
I actually had to Google " scabrous ". :blush:

WD Pro

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Lime GT
Vehicle Showcase