Time to ditch the summer tires?

SilverbackGT

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT
I'm running my GT at VIR next weekend (HPDE2) and trying to make a decision on tire setup. My Michelin SS 305/30/19s still have some life left (about one more weekend worth) so I'd like to go ahead and wear em out. However, they're slippery on the street right now when it gets cold out and I'm wondering if it's time to swap them out for winter tires. I know it'll be easier to warm em up at the track but this is my first year driving track so a second opinion would be much obliged.

Lows in the 30s and highs in the 40s

Winter tire suggestions for North Carolina? I don't plan to drive my mustang in the snow, just cold temperatures.
Sponsored

OP
OP
SilverbackGT

SilverbackGT

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT
Great I'll check out those pirellis. I reached out to Michelin but I have a feeling they tell me to swap out the super sports for an all season tire.

FDHog

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Frank
Vehicle(s)
2019 GT350, 2020 Ford Raptor
Just put Pilot Sport A/S 3+ on mine. The summer tires are on the rack.

LarsenGrind

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Lars
Vehicle(s)
2017 Euro-Spec GT
Can't speak on the track question, but Pirelli Sotozero III's are very good on cold, dry pavement.
I have these as my winters. Have been using them two winters now. We dont get very much snow here in Copenhagen, Denmark. These tires have not seen more than two inches of snow so far. Most important thing is I feel confident driving the car with these tires in these conditions.

Sponsored

FDHog

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Frank
Vehicle(s)
2019 GT350, 2020 Ford Raptor
255 and 275/40 19

Norm Peterson

corner barstool sitter
Threads
Reaction score
On a corner barstool not too far from I-95
First Name
Norm
Vehicle(s)
'08 GT #85, '19 WRX