Sponsored

Is a GT350 right for me?

GCBC

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GT-350R & V12 Vanquish
Looking at a new left over 18 gt350 for 57grand. I have never owned a mustang and always hated them for the solid rear axel, bad brakes, heavy and low power. Im an ex pro road racer and driver coach and never drove a modified one at the track even, really only exotics and germans. I used to have a c6 z06 that I loved for a daily driver and would do occasional 10lap sprints when coaching at the track. It never overheated coolant or engine/diff/trans oil ever. Was going to gt a new 19 z06 manual but they still overheat with an intermediate driver, let alone someone who's going to be pushing it for its life....

So here comes the gt350, its got floating rotors and decent calipers, indy rear end, mechanical lsd, 530hp, but its pretty heavy at 3750. I think it COULD be the right car for me as a 5k mile yr daily driver between my home in Florida and house in country side of pa. I have heard of engine issues with these and some complains of oil temps by better than average drivers.

I want to know really what im getting into for this thing. I AM NOT LOOKING TO MAKE IT INTO A "TRACK CAR" but it NEEDS to be able to be driven 10/10ths by a pro for a solid 20minutes in 95* heat at PBIR/homestead Miami which are very hard on temps tracks (hi speed hi revs hi brake)

I dont want to do anything to this car just the basics reflash, tint, rbf600 lines pads and call it a day. Is this reasonable or do I need to get additional oil coolers and other things? I have also considered getting a GT performance pack for 43grand and putting 14k into it but I want a warranty, that's horrible for resale value as ill only have this car 1 yr max, plus im just completely and utterly burned out of working on and building race cars.

Im still not sure its the right car for me, I really loved my c6 z06 and for 5k more than this gt350 I can get a 2k mile c6 zr1..

Thanks gents.
Sponsored

mavisky