Sponsored

Noob questions for the Autocrossers - 2nd gear torque and tires in the backseat?

suzukablue

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
still shopping GT350
Hi all,

I just sold my 2006 Honda S2000 and am ready to purchase a 2017 Shelby GT350. The car will primarily be for autocross, with maybe a half dozen track days each year. I've been autocrossing for the last 10 years (not at the pointy end but I have fun).

I've been reading that compared to the Camaro 1SS1LE (the other option I was considering buying) the torque in second gear makes the Shelby not the best autocross car... but I am so in love with this car that I'm wondering just how bad it is - I was hoping I could get some wizened autocrossers here to throw their opinions my way. I'm primary concerned with any frustrations you have on a typical Nationals or Tour type course, not the local parking lot stuff.

Also, has anyone of reasonable height been able to fit 4 19" wheels and tires in the backseat/trunk to get to an event?

Many thanks! :D
Sponsored

JuRuKi

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT/PP
Can't help with the autocross question but i sold a set of 19" wheels with tires mounted and guy picked them up in his Mustang.

DocWalt

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GT350
305/30-19 RE-71R's are your only option currently (maybe BFG will have the Rival-S in that size next year). I haven't tried fitting them in the car, but I really should. I'm pretty sure they'll fit, but not 100% sure. I'm 6'4" and have the driver's seat pretty far back which may limit my ability to stuff them behind the seat.

I rarely notice the lack of torque @ the low end because I'm rarely going slow enough for it to matter. That's only below mid 30s in mph where it's really an issue. You do have to be careful if you're below 3500 RPM and on the throttle hard, it's like hitting VTEC in the S2k :p

Here's a couple of videos of how it does on a typical Tour style course:
[ame]