Col3371

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Colin
Vehicle(s)
5.0 Ruby Red GT
Morning all.
Rains stopped so today is the day for me to hardwire my Thinkware in at long last.
Did my homework last night and from what I can gather (from lots of conflicting info from all over the place);

Yellow into Fuse 2 & Red into Fuse 23?

My question is, the fuse taps have 2 slots for fuses. Obviously the original that you take out goes in one (& I thought that'd be it) but I've seen photos of the other one being filled with a 5A fuse as well? Is this right?

I'm no electrician in any sense of the word but I ain't no novice either. Trouble is that the last car I messed with (electrics wise) was my old Astra in 1988 :lol: Things have changed somewhat!
I'd have thought that by putting a 5A in the fuse tap would render the other higher one useless? I'm sure I'm wrong but would like to understand.

Can someone let me know what I should do at all? Wanted to get this done today :frusty:
Sponsored

Ian whu

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang GT
the original fuse will protect the original circuit,
and the 5v one just protects the dash cam
Yellow to 23 & Red to 2

Col3371

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Colin
Vehicle(s)
5.0 Ruby Red GT
the original fuse will protect the original circuit,
and the 5v one just protects the dash cam
Yellow to 23 & Red to 2
Cheers Ian......... going with your final word :cheers:

Clever little things these fuse taps

Ian whu

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang GT
I had to shave a little bit off of the black plastic on mine. They was too tight

Actual

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang 5.0 V8 GT Auto Fastback Black
@Col3371 please can you edit the fuses mentioned in your last message to stop other getting it wrong.

Thinkware F750

Red Wire - Battery (Continuous +12v)
Fuse 2 Power mirror memory module
This fuse is continuously powered

Yellow Wire - ACC (Accessories ignition switched)