Sponsored

Limp Mode on the Track

jaubrey

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350
I took my base GT350 to the track (Palm Beach Intl Raceway) for the first time this weekend. First off, the car was unbelievable and was tearing up everything on the track. I am a novice driver, and the car even made me look good.

My intention was to take it easy, but the adrenaline and capabilities of the car got the better of me, and I was basically running as fast as I possibly could. Anyway, on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th session, after about 15-20 mins, the car went into limp mode and I had to cut the session short and return to the pit. Oil temps were around 225-230. I am not sure about water temp or cyl head temps.

I called Ford Performance, and they were basically no help saying I should have bought the Track Pack if I intended to track the car.

Wondering if anyone else with a base car has done any track days and their experience, and recommendations for Differential, Transmission or other changes that could address the issue.... If I took the car into the dealer would the IDS show exactly what caused the limp mode?

Next time this happens, I will be better prepared to look at all the temps, but I would have no clue what transmission and differential temps are.

Thanks...this forum rocks!

BTW, I met another GT350 owner at the track and he had no idea about the Track Attack events...just like I would have if not for this forum...I'm signed up for June 14
Sponsored

OP
OP
jaubrey

jaubrey

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350
Also, would you change the oil after the track day...and should I run something other than 5W-50 in Florida.

GT_Dave

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1970 Mach 1 408EFI , 2016 GT350