Sponsored

Strange sound from stock BOV

tripat

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang EcoBoost Premium w/ PP
If I rev my EcoBoost Mustang to about mid RPM range a few times then let it return to idle, after a full 5 seconds at idle it makes this weird click/vacuum/thunk like noise. I had a friend give it gas while I had the hood open so I could locate where its coming from and I am pretty sure its coming from the blow-off valve or something really close to it. The thing is, I have 3k miles on the car and never noticed it until recently which was about the same time I felt like the car lost just a little bit of power. Could a bad BOV affect performance or is that sound normal? It seems like if it was a normal sound it would do it much sooner than 5 seconds after returning to idle after getting some RPM's but I'm pretty new to turbos so I don't know. Only thing I've done to the car is put an Unleashed tune on it. Any ideas?
Sponsored

Juben

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Justin
Vehicle(s)
2015 EcoBoost Mustang (AT) w/PP
What your describing isn't something I've heard before. Is there any way that you can get a video of it?

Fast64ranchero

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Walt
Vehicle(s)
63 Ranchero, 1972 Pinto, 2015 Mustang
Does it make the same sound/noise when you first start it?

OP
OP

tripat

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I just went out and tried it again and yes it does it when I first start it but I noticed a few other things too. Its not only when it returns to idle, if rev it up and hold it there I can hear it make the sound and it also does it after I shut the car off.

I made another video of it hoping it would be a little more clear, this time including the after shut off sound.

Sound at 0:09 / 0:21 / 0:29

Last edited:

Sponsored

OP
OP

tripat

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I apologize, I probably should have put this post in "Issues, Repairs, Warranty, TSB, Recalls"

dragonacc

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ecoboost PP