Sponsored

Clutch Spring Removal to Aid in Linear Pressure

Ayatollah Humungous

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP
My previous car was a 2013 GT that had the famous MT-82 clutch return issues at high RPM. I got rid of that car before having to remove the spring to fix it and got my 15 GT so I have little experience with the benefits and negatives of spring removal.

For some reason in the 15 the non-linear nature of the clutch pressure makes it incredibly hard to drive for me. One of the benefits I read of removing the clutch spring was linear pressure with smoother transitions between gears resulting.

Would that still be a benefit of this process on the revised MT-82 in the S550? I understand it will make the clutch stiffer, but I am OK with that.
Sponsored

Grimace427

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 Mustang 5.0
Go ahead and yank it to see for yourself. I did on my 2011 and while it took a day or two to get used to the new feel it is absolutely an improvement over the factory setup.

OP
OP

Ayatollah Humungous

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP
Go ahead and yank it to see for yourself. I did on my 2011 and while it took a day or two to get used to the new feel it is absolutely an improvement over the factory setup.
I suffer from suspect mechanical skill. I am leery of breaking a clip or something and then not having the option to put it back together appropriately should I not like the results.

Grimace427

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 Mustang 5.0
I suffer from suspect mechanical skill. I am leery of breaking a clip or something and then not having the option to put it back together appropriately should I not like the results.

The job on a 2011+ Mustang is surprisingly easy, only requiring a small screwdriver. There are videos on YouTube you can review while under your dash. I haven't been under the dash of a 2015 yet but I'm sure somebody has already done it if you scan the interwebz a bit.

DivineStrike

Doomsday
Threads