Sponsored

EV or Hybrid Mustang in the future? What do you think?

Dary

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang Premium GT
Don’t get me wrong. I’m in love with mechanical stuff and admire the design of ICE. I have an associate degree in Mechanical Power Technology (2005) and now I’m graduating this semester with Mechanical Engineering Technology degree. Yay! I believe in technology and continues improvement. It’s not like we reached a dead end with ICE but we really didn’t give electric motors enough chance.

Have you ever thought about an Electric Mustang?? I know I know… A few things came to my mind were like a MUSTANG without the engine roar? No exhaust tips? No gear shifting? No typical modding? But I’m like WTH, they just released an I4 which I remember a lot of people were saying it’s never going to happen.

I predict Ford will release a hybrid Mustang in the next generation (if not during this gen). Maybe they will test a new hybrid technology with their refreshed Ford GT. I mean, sport hybrid like some of the new modern super cars, not boring hybrid like a Prius. I don’t see Ford is gutsy enough to release an ALL electric Mustang but that would defiantly be interesting. The EV market is growing and demand will make EV more and more affordable. Seeing Tesla giving away all their patents saying something.

Some of the pros and cons right off the top of my head:

EV Pros
Instant torque
No emission
No gearbox
No drive shaft
No typical maintenance
Lower gravity center (if battery placed at the bottom same as Tesla Model S)
Less drag

EV Cons
Expensive
Lower range
Longer time to “refuel”
Not as fun as ICE?
Not load enough - fake sound will not do it for me

PS: did you watch the new dual motor Tesla doing 0-60 in 3.2 s?
PS2: I'm not really a new member to this forum. I was reading around in here for months!
Sponsored

JimmyTwoTimes

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT Premium