Sponsored

Please help a COMPLETE noob.

Burkey

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
Vehicle Showcase
So, I went out to the local 1/8th mile strip on the weekend, first time ever.
Track and conditions were "terrible" according to the seasoned veterans. Something in the order of a full second off the best it has to offer.
Best I could mange was an 8.5 @ 90MPH, 2.1 60ft (I know right)
Car is MANUAL. My launches were terrible.
Made NO changes from how I drive it on the street eg. Kiddie seats still installed, yes, seriously, just wanted a basic idea of the car's capability.

THE PLAN
Remove excess weight from the car
Purchase FF tune and run e85 (already running Lund tune)
Semi slicks on OEM wheels (I use the car on the circuit too)

QUESTIONS
I'm running AirLift bags, any suggestions on what to do with them to improve the launch? Dampers are set dead middle.
What is the widest tyre you can fit on the OEM wheel without rubbing?
Pressures?

ANY OTHER IDEAS?
If you have some tips or tricks, please feel free to share, I have ZERO experience in drag racing. :cheers:

Thanks in advance. ANY advice will be helpful.
Sponsored

Angry50

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Fred
Vehicle(s)
2017 Shelby GT350
weight isnt going to make much if any difference.. which factory wheels do you have? if you go with a radial make sure not to launch hard. until you replace axles it will be safer to ease out or a mild launch with feathering

Braski

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Traded 2015 Blk GT Prem PP on 2019 Corvette GS 2LT M7
Vehicle Showcase
Soften suspension as much as posible. Run rear street tires at 24-30 psi and max out the front. Slip the clutch from around 2,200 or get slicks and let it rip from 5k!

66sprint6

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
2015 Base GT PP