Sponsored

Would like some autox advice

tamadrummer1120

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Lightning Blue GT
So yesterday was my second outing for my s550 in autocross and would like a little advice. Now I will admit I am an autocross amateur. Prior to the s550 I owner an s2000 and autocrossed that a few times. I always try and double enter if space allows so I can run twice as much and get more seat time. For what it's worth, there was about half a dozen 5.0s there yesterday and I was the fastest.

Anyhow this is my daily so I can't make any crazy modifications that some people maybe could. I do have a bmr front subframe brace on the way. Also wheels set up is 20x10 with 275 and 20x11 with 315. Continental dw' s. Not amazing tires but good considering it's a daily.

So I was seeing a pretty good amount of understeer yesterday whenever it came to sharp corners after a high speed zone. I tried various techniques and none seemed to shine above the rest. And though it is inevitable with such a big car, the ending of any slalom became very tasking dude to the body roll. Not sure if a sway bar upgrade would truly fix this or not. I do have to say I saw barely any oversteer unlike any of the other mustang, so I was fortunate there.

Now it was a blessing in disguise that during the morning heats it was raining. I've always thought you learn so much about the car during set autox runs.

Thanks everyone
Sponsored

TNcoupe

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Josh
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT PP
Scandanavian flick, it will rotate.

BmacIL

Enginerd
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Guard GT Base, M/T
Vehicle Showcase
Well, sticking to F-street will help you limit the budget on mods.

1. Slot the upper strut hole 2 mm for more camber
2. Rear bar upgrade - I would go GT350R or Strano
3. Dampers - Steeda Pro-action, Koni adjustables

Nick610s

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Comp Orange GT