Sponsored

Tuning vs. Drive By Wire tweaks...

ctandc72

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'19 GT 6 speed Base
Vehicle Showcase
Wasn't sure where to put this - as it applies to all Mustangs. So if a mod wants to move this, feel free.

I'm new to Mustangs, but not to new to modifying vehicles. Gained some experience with the earlier stages of EFI with GM vehicles from the 80's and 90's. Worked with 'piggyback' and other adapters that allowed us to see and change the programming of the factory ECM. Tuning of course has come along way.

My last vehicle was a Honda and with the tuning solution I had, I was able to make changes to the OEM Drive By Wire throttle settings. While this doesn't add any power, it DOES changes the way the car behaves in regards to the throttle being applied and how it drives - especially eliminating 'rev hang' programmed in at the factory when driving a manual transmission equipped car.

I plan on inquiring with the major tuners that have experience with Mustangs, but I'm wondering if people realize how much modifying these settings change the way the car drives?

It's not advancing spark timing or changing anything that could hurt the engine - again it doesn't gain ANY power - but it makes the Drive by Wire setup act more like a direct connected throttle.

Does anyone know if there is a tuner / software solution out there that would allow me to adjust these settings? While I plan on getting tuned (most likely dyno tuned after the car has some miles on it) I would LOVE to make these drive-ability changes ASAP.
Sponsored

Nagare

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Lightning Blue V6
Vehicle Showcase
You just need to pick up a JMS PedalMax or Pedal Commander. It plugs right in by the pedal and is easily reversed, doesn't involve any tinkering with settings. Basically amps your input up to 100% from the start so you're not having to push the pedal to the floor.