Sponsored

E85 and our gt mustangs

Gavin k

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Mustang
Just asking the question who is running E85 and what mods do you need to run it? Does any one know if we can run it without mods with out doing any damage?
Sponsored

RTVgav

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Gav
Vehicle(s)
2017 Harrop Equipped Mustang
I've not run it in my Mustang but i have been running it in my track car for 10 years now.

The same general principles will apply, 'tho:

• the Mustang fuel system being compatible with E10 will also be OK with E85
  • the car will need to be retuned for E85
  • for the same performance you will need around 30% more fuel, therefore you will probably need larger injectors at least
  • most benefits of E85 are in a force induction application as it allows for better detonation resistance at increased boost (i.e. ecoboost or SC/turbo Coyote)

Burkey

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
Vehicle Showcase
I'm using it. I have both a Flex Fuel tune (any ethanol % for the noobs) and a race tune for e85 only. No mods required for either other than the tune/s.
The injectors will cope easily on a NA car up to a point. FI will test the limits though.
Fuel consumption WILL escalate as mentioned by [MENTION=22853]RTVgav[/MENTION].
The ignition timing advance you'll see on e85 is just awesome, car absolutely hammers.
I picked up somewhere between 20-30rwkws if I remember correctly. It's THAT good.

Having both the FF tune and race tune is the key. In the real world, you'll likely be using 98 as your everyday fuel with FF tune. Run tank down near empty, fill up with e85 or at least splash say 30 litres on top. You'll then have say e60. Run that down, fill again, should have e85, flash race tune (not absolutely required but if you want the most timing, this is how you do it), drive normally for a few minutes before going WOT.