Sponsored

Taking the S550 GT to the race track

spiller

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Porsche GT3
I apologize in advance as I'm sure this topic has been covered many times on these very forums. It is difficult and very time consuming to search for the info I'm looking for and since I am new to Mustangs, I thought I would try and get all of the info I'm after in the one thread.

A quick background, I am an experienced track day goer and have tracked a number of different vehicles, most recently a Porsche 911 GT3 which was extensively modified for the track. That was was a great car and you could beat on it all day long at the track with zero issues. I am not expecting the Mustang GT to be like that (no offence intended). With this in mind, when I go to the track I like to drive my cars to the limit or very close to it, so I would like to know how I can expect the S550 to perform under these circumstances.

My car is an Aus/Euro spec GT so similar enough to the US spec GT performance pack. I will be fitting the Ford Racing track handling package along with a host of BMR upgrades to reduce wheel hop.

Specific questions:

1) What viscosity engine oil should I use for the Coyote? I understand the Vodoo is spec'd with 5w50. Can this carry over to the Coyote? I don't like the sound of 5w20!

2) Will there be engine and transmission cooling issues?

3) Will the PP brembo brakes require a pad upgrade? I will change the fluid to Castrol SRF but wondering if any other upgrades are required.

Any other issues?

This car will be my daily driver and its been a while since I've double dutied a car but I realize there is always a compromise when you do. I will do 4-5 track days per year which isn't much but when I'm there I will drive hard.

All input appreciated!
Sponsored

MarkH

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Magnetic GT PP Vert