Sponsored

GT350R style fenders

stevec

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT!!
So, I am thinking of fitting some om my GT and cannot decide which way to go.

Carbon or Fibreglass?
Anderson Composites or Carbon Dynamics?

Obviously being in the UK I need to get this right and I cannot easily send items back if they are not great.

Discussed this with my paint-shop guy and he actually likes the look of the duraflex Fibreglass ones. Does anyone know much about these?

I am not worried about weight saving or anything like that, I just want to get whatever will give me the best fit and finish.

Any pics or comments appreciated.

Cheers
Sponsored

Gloucesternige

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 Mustang GT, GR Yaris, SWB Defender, Harley.
Hi Steve,

I have been making panels and moulds for many years now and have always used GRP (Fibreglass). If you intend to paint the fenders you may as well go for GRP as carbon will cost more, though it will be lighter but less flexible. The GRP is also easier to repair if the worst should happen and it gets scuffed.

If you're not concerned about weight and dont want the carbon look, go GRP. I may even buy a pair and pop some moulds off em??

OP
OP
stevec

stevec

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT!!
Hi Nige,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I am edging down the Fibreglass route I must admit. I certainly wont be leaving them unpainted.

I will also be keeping original fenders so can put them back on if needed.

Gibbo205

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
UK 2015 Mustang & BMW E46 M3
What Nige says is spot on!

GRP will still save you a lot of weight, my M3 is all GRP, except boot lid and front splitters. The other with carbon is sometimes the weave still shows through the paint, which for me is a no no when you want the car to look like it came from the factory.