Sponsored

First track day in the R

teamsketch

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
17' GT350R
For some context, I've been tracking cars for about 10 years. In that time I've tracked an E46 M3, a Porsche Cayman S, E36 M3, E90 M3, and a Boss 302, all in various states of tune and modification. After driving the 350R on track, all I can say is WOW! This is one of the best track experiences I have ever had. There are so many positives with this car:

- Just amazing chassis control. I can't believe it drives this well considering the weight.

- Transmission is so good. Feels like I'm shifting an S2000 or the E36. Heal toe under heavy braking is so easy and such a joy. Was a little worried about this because it can be challenging on the street, but it is so easy to roll hard into the brakes and heal toe into 3rd or 2nd for a tight turn.

- At Pacific Raceways, turn 1 is not much of a turn, but in the Shelby I was pushing 140+. Don't know if it is the chassis or aero, but the car felt so planted.

- So hooked up coming out of corners, couldn't believe how early I could get on the throttle out of most corners.

- Amazingly tossable for such a large vehicle. There is a section where I intentionally get the car light in the rear to get it rotate around more. The Shelby responded no problem without any surprises.

- Only mod is camber plates and -2 degrees in the front. Tires look good and didn't feel like I was cooking them.

- So much power in the top end!

Only two downsides for the day. First, the brakes did fade a few times (long pedal travel) however, I am still running stock pads and fluid (completely cooked the front pads in 4 sessions.) I assume with some better fluid and pads this problem will be solved. Any suggestions on a good track pad? Ran Hawks on the Boss and Pagid on the M3 but open to other suggestions. Also was looking to go with Motul or Endless for fluid, don't know what the specs are for the stock fluid.