Loud clicking under acceleration

3ZERO3

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dante
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT
I have a n unusual noise coming from the drivers side of my vehicle under moderate to heavy acceleration. There is another person on the facebook page that has experienced the same situation but hasn't had it resolved. When I leave a stop light or driving on the highway and I apply moderate accel, there is a hesitation in power and a fairly loud rapid "clicking" sound from the drivers side and what sounds like close to the firewall. I have owned the vehicle since new (currently 6K miles) and have never run under 91 octane, the vehicle is completely stock. The motor almost feels like traction control is kicking in however it's not. Whats's really strange is, every time it occurs I see a puff of black smoke coming from the back. I have taken it to Ford to have them look at it but they were not able to duplicate it. As a service consultant myself, it's hard to find time to take it in. Has anyone else had a similar issue and was it resolved? Thanks:cheers:
Sponsored

TheWildman

Jazz Master
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Michael
Vehicle(s)
2018 Kona EcoBoost Base (PP)
Can you get a video of it?
Puff of black smoke?!?! Sounds like low speed pre-ignition. Is the car warmed up when this happens?

I haven't heard of this particular clicking issue happening, but the hesitation and puffs of black smoke sound familiar. (I haven't experienced this situation but someone else should chime in)

OP
OP
3ZERO3

3ZERO3

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dante
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT